top of page
  • Writer's picturefpphilosophers

Hopsin Beefs with God: The Problem of Divine Hiddenness


I’ll be the first to admit that I enjoy a good hip-hop beef and everything that results from it: the interviews, the posturing, the music, the gossip, etc. However, even the greatest beef in the history of hip-hop (Tupac vs Biggie?) pails in comparison to the 2014 diss track released by Hopsin, “Ill Mind of Hopsin 7.”[1] This is primarily due to who Hopsin is beefing with: God. In beefing with God, Hopsin also sheds light on a philosophical issue: the problem of divine hiddenness, or divine silence. Simply put, if God is real then why dosen’t God reveal him/her self? Where is God? Some philosophers, such as Friedrich Nietzsche, have also suggested that this is a “problem” for theistic belief because it raises questions about God’s goodness and power:


“A god who is all-knowing and all-powerful and who does not even make sure his creatures understand his intention—could that be a god of goodness? Who allows countless doubts and uncertainties to persist, for thousands of years, as though the salvation of mankind were unaffected by them, or who, on the other hand, holds out the prospect of frightful consequences if any mistake is made as to the nature of truth?”[2]


Like all good beefs, there is a history between Hopsin and God. Hopsin, by his own admission, used to be a Christian but he “fell out” due to the persistent questions and doubts that he had concerning the nature of God and other religious claims.


“Is heaven real? Is it fake? Is it really how I fantasize it?

Where's the Holy Ghost at? How long it take Man to find it?

My mind's a nonstop tape playing and I can't rewind it,

You gave me a Bible and expect me not to analyze it?”


Hopsin, throughout his journey as a Christian, was constantly plagued by unanswerable questions concerning God and biblical claims. He was told, as most are, that the answers to these questions were in the Bible, the holy text of Christianity. However, the study of the Bible only left Hopsin with more questions! Hopsin, in becoming a Christian, assumed that God exists. Here is where the issues gets philosophically messy: In what way does God “exist?” Well, if we take the biblical narrative seriously, then God exists in the same way that anything else exists; that is, as something which is encounterable.


“I ain't trying to take your legacy and torch it down,

I'm just saying, I ain't heard shit from the horse's mouth.

Just sheep always telling stories of older guys

Who were notarized by you when you finally vocalized.”


For Hopsin this is what lies at the heart of the problem of divine hiddenness. The Christian faith has been presented as a relationship between the individual and God, but relationships are built on the assumption that both parties are active. For example, is it possible to have a relationship when one party is inactive? Can a “parent” claim to be a parent if they have never met their child? Biologically, sure, but what about practically? Conversely, can I really claim to be in a romantic relationship with someone whom I’ve never met or talked? The condition for an active relationship is participation from both parties. Both parties have to be present.


“Show yourself and the boom is done.

Every rumor's gone, I no longer doubt this shit, you're the one.”

Without the tangible presence of God all that remains is doubt, but his doubt is conditional. Doubt could potentially be expelled if the necessary conditions of the relationship were met. Since the conditions have not been met Hopsin is left with two options: continue believing despite the odds, or withhold belief until his conditions are reached. Hopisn’s decision is clear:


“ Man everything is what if, why is it always what if…

Every fucking thing that deals with you is fucking suspect.

I'm fucking done, I'm fucking done.

This is my fucking life and I'm living it, I'm having fun.

If you really care for me, prove that I need to live carefully,

But I'll be damned if I put my own pleasure aside for an afterlife that isn't even guaranteed.

We are you, and you're us, stop playing games.

My life's all I got, and heaven is all in my brain.

And when I feel I am in hell, my ideas are what get me through pain.

Do as you please, and I'll just do me, I'm a human, I'll stay in my lane."


God’s hiddenness has resulted in Hopsin’s suspicion of belief. Of course, if God is upset by Hopsin’s conclusion he can…you know…show up. It should be noted that, within the context of a relationship, the burden of proof is on God. Hopsin has extend his challenge, the parameters of the relationship have been established, and the rest is now up to God. The ball is now in God’s court. Hopsin: 1pt. God: 0pt.


By Michael Granado, A Front Porch Philosopher


[2] Friedrich Nietzsche, Daybreak, trans R. J. Holingdale (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1982), pp. 89–90

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Is Psychology A Science? (Re: Zizek and Peterson)

By Raymond E Perrier (Front Porch Philosopher) For some readers, this question might be perplexing. In fact, the very implication that psychology might not be a science could be offensive. Maybe you t

bottom of page